top of page
InAlternative-removebg-preview.png

A New Universe: Plain White T's "Parallel Universe"


Plain White T's has just released their newest record Parallel Universe with Fearless Records on August 24th. This follows their last release from 2015, American Nights. I for one, didn't realize Plain White T's were still making music. We all know that one song "Hey There Delilah", a pretty iconic song of the 2000s. Plain White T's formed in 1997 and currently consists of Thomas John "Tom" Higgenson (vocals, guitar, and keyboards), Dave Tirio (guitar and backing vocals), Tim G. Lopez (guitar and backing vocals), Mike Retondo (bass and backing vocals), and De'Mar Randell Hamilton (drums and backing vocals). The band returned to Fearless in 2017 and recorded Parallel Universe. I'm one of those people who only knew "Hey There Delilah", and as controversial as it may be, I never cared for the song in the first place. It's not a bad song by any means, but I felt as if it's one of those overplayed and over hyped songs. It's not a bad song, if it wasn't so overplayed, I may like it more. So, I was weary on reviewing this album with not caring much for their most popular song. Though, I'm thoroughly surprised that I am actually really enjoying this album. I was weary, not only because of "Hey There Delilah", but also because of the album cover. The cover is very colorful, with Earth having a ring on it. It gave it something like hippie, psychedelic vibes, something that I'm not personally into in regards to music. It's actually just your average alternative, punk album, which is great. A great example of not judging a book (in this case album) by the cover.

I didn't think I would like this album very much, if at all, but I actually enjoy it very much. I've had it on since it released and listened to it all morning at work. It's a calming album. Previously, in the months and weeks leading up to the album, Plain White T's released "Bonnie I Want You", "Light Up the Room", "Low", "Your Body", and "Bury Me" as singles. "Your Body" and "Light Up the Room" are accompanied by music videos. I think my favorite songs are "Sick of Love", "Your Body", and "No Imitations". "Your Body" sounds like a sweet love song. I'm a total sap for love songs and sweet dedications of any sort, and this song is simple, yet sweet. The instrumentals are simple, there's this clicking, bell like sound that keeps the same beat throughout the song, making it one of those songs you would clap along to. There's a part in the middle to end of the song where it sounds very tropical, making me think about sitting on a beautiful beach with your love. This song brings up sweet imagery while being very simple. Its simplicity makes it catchy and sweet. On the other hand, "Sick of Love" is quite the opposite. Coincidence that this song follows "Your Body" on the track list? I don't think so. "Your Body" is sort of a love song, while "Sick of Love" would indicate quite the opposite. It's more of a complex song, with more instrumentals. I love this song because of the heavy presence of the bass. I love hearing bass, with the deep sound it produces. So, that heavy presence of bass makes me fall in love with the song. I can nod along to the bass and just live on the bass alone. Then the lyrics are great. I may be a sucker for love songs and things of the like, but I also hate it at times. So, I feel this song. I'm sick of it too. It's another catchy song and will be a bop for sure. "No Imitations" is a mix of the two songs in a way. Instrumentally, the song is relaxed and calm, but still punkish, if that makes sense. It also has a small techno vibe that I actually dig. This is a common thing throughout the album, techno like vibes. It's something that I can car dance to, you know, move my arms and torso along to the music. It's also sort of uplifting lyrically. Essentially, Tom refuses to accept any sort of imitation or replacement for the person he has found, seemingly a lover. Which, this can be taken to really anywhere. It's pushing whoever to be themselves in a way, not allowing them to be something they're not. It's also saying that no one else will do, that they're something unique and special to you. It's a pretty good song.

Overall, I enjoy the album. I'm going to be adding it to my main playlist for sure. I do recommend it, even if you didn't care for "Hey There Delilah", like myself. This album is different from that song and deserves to be heard with open ears. I did not come into this thinking I would like the album, especially not enough to want it on my main playlist. It is actually a great album and I recommend it. If you enjoy this album, or anything else from Plain White T's, check them out on tour! You can catch Demi and myself at the Dekalb date!

Follow Us

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Spotify
  • TikTok
bottom of page