top of page
InAlternative-removebg-preview.png

Normal Bird Interview


Compiled by Demi Marshall


Normal Bird is the musical project of singer/songwriter, Sean “Whit” Whitman. Self-recorded and produced, Normal Bird is an eclectic blend of indie rock, emo, and folk. Normal Bird’s most recent release is Horseback Trash, which features unused songs from the 2021 full-length album, By Horseback. Normal Bird’s live band is made up of Jacob Day on guitar and keys, Ryan Susoev on bass guitar, Adam Wilson on Drums and Whit on guitar and vocals. Audience members are guaranteed to see energetic reinterpretations of songs, mixed in with the recorded versions. 


Tell us about your latest release Horseback Trash. What inspired this EP? Was there anything unique about the creative process?

This EP was just a collection of songs that didn’t quite make the cut for my 2021 full length-By Horseback. They were all left off because none of them felt fully finished. Since November was the two year anniversary of By Horseback’s release, I decided to take another look at them. I was pleasantly surprised! I like them all a lot more than I remembered. I also think that they’re all finished, I just couldn’t accept them the way they were back then. It was a fun process going back into those old project files and mixing things I haven’t listened to in a couple of years. 


How would you describe your current sound? Which of your songs would you

recommend to first time listeners?

Our sound is a mix of indie, emo, and folk rock. I think “Long Pause,” “Coffee Shop,” and “Agorapjobia” from By Horseback are a good representation of what the sound is. 


What does your process look like when writing/creating music?

The process changes a lot from song to song. I’ve tried to be really methodical about writing, but usually my favorite things I write come out of nowhere. I’ll be noodling around on the guitar while waiting for an appointment or something and that’s when it hits me. Usually things start with the instrumentals and the lyrics come later. It’s the best feeling ever when I start working on something I really like and get obsessive about it. At that point, it doesn’t really feel like work, because I can see so many steps ahead. Like if I’m into it, I know what I want the parts to sound like so it’s more just a matter of finding the time to record it. When I’m in that space, it never feels like I have enough time, so it can feel like trying to sprint through mud. That type of writing definitely beats banging my head against the wall wishing something interesting would come out of my guitar.


Tell us about the California music scene. How would you describe it? What are the best parts about it?

My experience with the California music scene has been good! I really like how eclectic the shows can be here. 


Do you have any pre-show rituals? How do you relax or celebrate after a live show?

I wouldn’t say I have any pre-show rituals. The closest thing I have is anxiety eating something right before I go on. I have a real fear that if I play a show, even slightly hungry, I’m going to pass out mid performance. This has never even come

close to happening, it’s just this irrational thing I picked up. As far as celebrating after a show, I’m usually just rushing off to bed. I work early in the morning six days a week and I don’t drink or anything so I’m not really sure what to do. Maybe we’ll play a show in the morning sometime and I’ll get to figure it out. 


What artists did you grow up listening to? Do they influence your music today, or did you branch to different styles?

Some of my favorite artists are Modest Mouse, Death Cab for Cutie, Interpol, Jimmy Eat World and Radiohead. Those bands all definitely influence what I’m making today.


What is your favorite venue to play and why? What is one venue you dream of playing one day?

I always enjoy playing the Arthouse Gallery on Shattuck. It’s got such a cool atmosphere and feels more relaxed. It would be great to play the Greek Theater. That’s kind of a dream venue for me. 


What can we expect from you in the future?

 The most exciting thing happening is that we are releasing some live session videos over the next few weeks. We took every lamp we own from our houses and set them up in a big hall and just recorded ourselves playing. I’m really happy with how they turned out and I can’t wait for everyone to see them. Besides that, I’m mixing a few songs that will be coming out as singles in the next couple of months. 


Keep up with Normal Bird:


Stream Horseback Trash:

Follow Us

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Spotify
  • TikTok
bottom of page