top of page
InAlternative-removebg-preview.png

Vitruvian Interview


Written by Demi Marshall


Vitruvian is a one-man rock and metal project run by musician and composer David Skelnik. A multi-instrumentalist with over 25 years of experience, David has been in countless bands throughout his life and toured both the west and east coast of the US. Vitruvian incorporates a wide range of sounds and styles with influences from prog rock/metal masters like Symphony X, Dream Theater, and Pink Floyd. In this interview, David discusses the personal meaning behind his latest EP "The New Beginning," his creative process, and musical influences.


Tell us about your latest EP “The New Beginning.” What inspired this album? Was

there anything unique about the creative process?

This release holds some significant personal meaning but also includes broader concepts of understanding our human situation and our place within the universe. I had a traumatic experience in 2008 where I lost my little sister in a car accident. Since then, there were a lot of down points and strong feelings of being lost. I felt broken which a lot of us have experienced. But I persevered, and it was around early 2020 when I finally felt like a solid human being again. The song “We Are Mechanics” came about and shortly after,

I wrote the song “12 Years Later.” This was a new

beginning for me personally, but also musically. Before this album I spent most of my time trying to put together a solid band of musicians. But it always seemed to fail for one reason or another. So it was at this point that I decided to switch gears and go all-in as a solo artist and continue the Vitruvian project myself. Hence The New Beginning.


How would you describe your current sound? Which of your songs would you

recommend to first time listeners?

I like to think that I incorporate a lot of different styles of rock and metal into my music. Each song tends to differ from the next, with one being an upbeat rock song and another being more on the heavier metal side. I have influences from Metallica to Pink Floyd, all the way to prog masters like Dream Theater and Symphony X. I’d say if you’re more of a rocker, check out my song “Returning Home.” But if you consider yourself more of a metalhead, go with “12 Years Later.” It’s a powerful, in-your-face opening to the album.


What does your process look like when writing/creating music?

Every song tends to differ. Sometimes I may write a song entirely on bass and form the

rest of the instruments around that. Other times, like with “Returning Home” and the intro to “12 Years Later,” I’ll sing a riff into the recorder app on my phone, then sit down and write it on guitar. Basically the entire song “Returning Home” was sung into my phone at first. I’m currently working on a song that I wrote primarily on drums. What I love about playing the power-trio instruments is that it all just comes down to how I feel in the moment. I may start with one riff, record it and play it out, then try to hear in my head what would sound good coming after it. A lot of the times it’s a beat on the drums.


What was the most memorable show you’ve played, and what was great about it?

Unfortunately, being a solo musician right now, I haven’t played out in a long time. Too

long! I miss it very much. But one show I remember in particular was with my last band - we played a gig in Los Angeles. It was a smaller venue on a small stage, but it was the crowd that made it great. Just a great interaction with the people there. And with a lot of the shows I’ve played, that was always one of my favorite parts. One day I wish to play on a huge stadium stage, but it’s the smaller intimate venues that just have a great wholesome feeling to it.


If you could get any artists to tour with you, dead or alive, who would be on the bill?

This would be like a fanboys dream come true. There are several bands that I’ve idolized

growing up and to tour with them would be freaking amazing. Although my style isn’t so much like theirs, Pink Floyd has always been my number one favorite. To get to hang out and play music with those musical masterminds would be very fulfilling.


What artists did you grow up listening to? Do they influence your music today, or did you branch to different styles?

I definitely grew up during probably the 2nd best time to be alive for music. (The first

would be the 70’s. I mean to be a teen in the 70’s, come on). My dad was always playing classic rock since I was born and I immediately fell in love with bands like Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Scorpions, Black Sabbath, etc. I was always rocking out and practicing to these bands. But when I got to High School, my musical horizon broadened and solidified. My older brother showed me Dream Theater and Symphony X and I was absolutely blown away. My first thought was, “I didn’t know you could do this with music.” The off-timings and intricate scale progressions captivated me and since then Prog has been my number one favorite. You can definitely hear a prog influence in my music, however, I’m also a huge fan of other styles and genres of music which I like to incorporate. I don’t want to be a prog band simply because I don’t feel that urge. I may have influences, but I strongly focus on writing what I feel, however that may come out.


What can we expect from you in the future?

I always tell people I’m just getting started! I’m super excited to continue producing and

recording my music to share with others. It always means so much to me when other people relate and connect to what I’m putting out. Right now, The New Beginning EP is out and I’m almost finished writing and recording the last 3 songs that will complete the Full Album. But what I’m REALLY excited about is my next album titled “Where Are We?” This album is going to be a deep dive into where we are as a human civilization. It’s also going to be an expansion of my musical style and growth. I won’t be slowing down any time soon, so definitely be on the lookout for plenty more Vitruvian Music!


Keep up with Vitruvian:


Stream The New Beginning:

Follow Us

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Spotify
  • TikTok
bottom of page